Updated 1/4/2009
24HrBeauty.com
Theft Report: I was just scammed yesterday by someone who claimed to be David Cramp. His email address and paypal account is dave.cramp@ntlworld.com. His name.com account is 185594-abc0771
After I transfered the domains to him, he claimed the payment back with a dispute. Never receive a word from him so far. Now my money is on hold and my domains are gone!
My purpose at this thread is to list all the domains that I was scammed. If someone approach you to sell these names to you, please aware that you might be the next victim or you will buy scammed names and might got yourself trouble. Instead, tell straight to his face: "Get off! Scammer!" and inform the forums admin to ban the scammer.
Name.com and paypal are looking into it. To my experience, name.com always stand up for its customers. I hope I can close this thread soon.
MEDIARECALLDIGITAL.COM, BIKERSBIKEPLACE.COM, EMBAVENEMEX.COM, IMSSURVEY.ORG, SOCAL-ICON.COM, GNUCHILE.ORG, WOCN2008.ORG, REDPOG.COM, MARCUSESTES.COM, COMETOGETHERFOUNDATION.ORG
Theft Report: It was the usual GoDaddy-Paypal modus operandi:
1. The scammer hacked a Paypal account and used that Paypal account to buy domains from me.
2. After I received the payment, I thought it was legitimate so I transferred the domains.
3. Later, I received an email from Paypal that the payment has been reversed because the real Paypal owner denies buying anything from me.
There were actually two attempts to scam me yesterday:
1. One here on DP from a user named laruca (http://forums.digitalpoint.com/member.php?u=181562). This attempt failed.
2. One on MSN, but I'm pretty sure he's also from DP. Only very few people know my MSN address and most (if not all) of them are from DP. This one was successful. I thought I had everything covered, but I was wrong.
There were also attempts to "recover" the login details for my GoDaddy account. So I suspect that they were trying very hard to make things difficult me.
I think these two were working together and I have a pretty good idea of who they really are (behind this laruca user and the MSN address) -- a couple of guys I pissed off because they were doing something they weren't supposed to do.
e-suria.com
Theft Report: Our ex-emplyee who left the company have never pass to us the domain sellers (Tucows.com) login Username and Password. His name is Mohd.Ali Imran. He have changed the admin mail address from imran@e-suria.com to me@imranz.com. Now he has deleted all the name servers. He is also trying to change the domain provider from Tucows.com to Name.com.
SisterGirls.com
Theft Report: I represent New York Times bestselling author Zane. Zane is the owner of Strebor Books a publishing company. In 2003 Strebor Books published SisterGirls.com a series of short stories. In 2004, Strebor Books mysteriously lost ownership of SisterGirls.com.
maintube.com, racingglove.com
Theft Report: "I will explain everything. I agreed to sell the domains to a guy on the Digital Point Forums (didn't see the option on the domain forum section) named PMedia. The two domains in question are RacingGlove.com and MainTube.com. The sale went very smooth, he sent the money and I sent the domains. But suddenly, I got an e-mail from PayPal stating that the transaction was reversed. I subsequently reversed the transfer. But after a long talk with the gentleman, he agreed to call off the reversal if I sent the domains to him. So I did that and he did not do his part. And now he has a PayPal dispute against me which makes ME look like the scammer when in fact he is. So now he has two domains and is about to get his money back."
www.slovenianspecialties.com
Theft Report: "after having our domain name secured by register.com (handled through IT melbourne) we decided to give go-daddy a try, they stated that the registry that IT melbourne provided did not work (bullcrap-it did because I had proof in writing from IT Melbourne as to the actual key) and in the meantime sold the domain name to 'betterthanaveragedomains.com' and want $100,000.00 to get it back. This was our livelihood, we had a eshop set up with this domain for years, they stole the name, the PR, everything. I want to get these idiots. I want everyone to know who they are and what they do. Buyer beware of go-daddy, I wouldn't trust them with a pinch of salt."
048.net
Theft Report: "I received an email from one guy wanting to buy this domain for 5k and there is a link on the email, so i click and went in http://resimarsivlerim.com/048_sale_domain.html.
After a few hours, i found the my godaddy account and email account was hacked into, all email on my hotmail account was forwarded to sekerihbar@hotmail.com."
magnetpranddesign.com, delineuraniumteam.com, ibubasketball.com, caroltanzman.com, hilliardsresort.com, UsedCarForLess.Com, speculativefictioncentre.com, compu-technologies.com
Theft Report: "All Stolen Domains Listed in this thread: http://forums.digitalpoint.com/showthread.php?t=935202"
YHY.INFO, QBF.INFO, HCY.INFO, G2G.INFO, KMQ.INFO
Theft Report: "Domains were listed for sale in my signature link at
Digital Point forums, I was contacted by a member named "pterodactil". After negotiating the total price, he then made payment for all the domains with paypal.
I proceeded to push the domains to his email address "thepterodactil@yahoo.com". He then charged back for the transaction. After I noticed that he had invalid
whois information listed on the domains, I contacted godaddy to let them know to see if they could possibly lock the domains to prevent him from selling them.
All they did was tell me that if I thought the whois information was incorrect, that I show proof. It seems like the scammer got away with it with the good help
of godaddy."
BQ.COM, JS.NET
Theft Report: "Stolen from me in 2000, my web based email account was hacked and these two prime domains
were hijacked from my Network Solutions account."
Theft Report:
"See corresponding thread: http://forums.digitalpoint.com/showthread.php?t=695456"